Foundation Stage Curriculum

The Foundation Stage Curriculum aims to provide learning opportunities that will underpin all future learning.  It starts when a child becomes three years old and continues until the end of the Reception Year.  Your children have already learnt a great deal by the time they start in the Infant School and so we seek to provide them with every opportunity to deepen their understanding and extend their learning.  Well-planned play is a key way in which your child will learn with enjoyment and challenge during this time.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is organised into six areas of learning:

  • personal,  social and emotional development;
  • language and literacy;
  • mathematical development;
  • knowledge and understanding of the world;
  • physical development;
  • creative development.

View Reading and Phonics at Yatton Infant School Information.

It is expected that by the end of the Reception Year,  your child will have attained the Early Learning Goals in each area.